NI Restructure: 11 Super Councils Introduced

As of this month, Northern Ireland will be comprised of eleven “Super-Council” areas. The move has implications for many aspects of society, not least anti-trafficking activism.

New Super-Council areas

Reducing 26 council areas to 11, borders will change and some areas grouped together for the first time. These Super-Councils now are:

Causeway Coast & Glens

Derry & Strabane

Fermanagh & Omagh

Mid Ulster

Mid & East Antrim

Antrim & Newtonabbey


North Down & Ards

Lisburn & Castlereagh

Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon

Newry, Mourne & Down

PSNI Comment

It is vital for communities to partner with the PSNI in identifying potential victims of human trafficking through Spotting The Signs.

Chief Constable George Hamilton said: 

“I would ask that you continue to support your local officers which in turn will help shape the future of policing in Belfast. Policing in Northern Ireland is undergoing major change, providing us with exciting new opportunities to deliver a policing service with local communities. Our new structure is about providing more time for our officers to engage and investigate.”

The NMT Vision

We aim to have a community group in each of the Super-Council areas by 2017. We know that local awareness-raising and training, networking and community-building has a positive effect and helps to prevent and stop human trafficking.

As it stands, our STOP THE TRAFFIK groups have a presence in 8 of the 11 council areas. Those we would like to build up action in are: Fermangh & Omagh; Mid Ulster and Newry, Mourne & Down.

Get in touch

If you are in any of these areas, or have contacts you’d like to pass on, please email

And if you are in one of the areas in which a group already exists, PLEASE join us! We need people of all ages, from all backgrounds, with all interests to strengthen these groups that are having a significant impact on their communities in preventing and stopping human trafficking.

There’s a seat with your name on it.